The most beautiful ads you’ve never seen

July 1, 2006 at 4:42 am (Geeky, Life)

New York City-based PSYOP is an inspiring culmination of creativity, collaboration and production focused on providing visual solutions in motion for the advertising & marketing, video gaming, broadcast and music video industries.

That’s what they say about themselves. It’s pretentious, but I don’t care.

I’m coming to a standstill here because I have something I want to say about them but I don’t want to work to get there. I’ve just decided I won’t.

In school I take A/V class, I make bad movies in that class because not a single person there is honestly inspired to make anything. All of our writers/directors are too afraid to submit a good script because they know it won’t be made into their vision (me), our cameramen are fed up with our bad equipment (me), our editors have to use shitty programs (me), and our teacher is a great guy but sucks at actually teaching/helping (not me.)
As a graphic designer and bad film-maker these people are people I aspire and hope to be. At the same time I know I won’t ever be though. I can’t draw, so no matter how good I get with photoshop I will still be hindered in creating what I want to. There is no god damn way I would ever go to film school for a multitude of unfortunately good reasons. The best I can do is get a good career and do these things as hobbies. That isn’t necessarily bad, I can continue to write and I can always try to, and maybe even, sell scripts but it isn’t what I really want to do.

My main problem, above anything else, is that I don’t have much passion. The things I do have any passion for I can’t prove myself in and the things I don’t have any passion for are expected of me.

At this age I’m one of the few people who understands that what I do in the next 5 years will probably define the rest of my life. It will define the people I may meet, it will define the lives I might change, and it will define my quality of life until the day I die. It scares me because most of the guiding lights in this story are dim, and the others show paths I don’t want to take.

There is beauty in what these people do. Do the ads want to make me get a car or buy a coke? No, but they inspire me to create things and live life and move forward, just as Van Gogh’s paintings do to many others.

see the site | digg story

3 Comments

  1. happychick said,

    I can see where you’re coming from. I love to dance. I’m actually really good at it. Until I was about 12, I wanted to be a pro dancer, maybe even get some voice coaching and go into broadway. But it was really unrealistic. Fortunately, though, I am also a damn good writer. I can take this hobby and go places. Journalism? yep. So anyway, don’t stress about this sorta stuff. 5 years is a long time. :) You’re actually a really good writer, and as much as you fob off any sort of “passion” for it, selling scripts might actually be the way to go. Besides, it’s not like the old days anymore- you can start a career, then proceed to hate it and start another. :) Chin up.

  2. vitamind said,

    yeh, keep your chin up, you have to have a positive attitude no matter what you’re doing or you’re not going to find enjoyment from it… Oh and those ads are teh sweets!1

  3. Alexwebmaster said,

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

Leave a Reply

